TRB140 Device Recovery Options

From Wiki Knowledge Base | Teltonika
This is the approved revision of this page, as well as being the most recent.
Main Page > Network products > TRB140 > TRB140 Manual > TRB140 Device Recovery Options

Summary

This chapter is an overview on various recovery options for a TRB140 device.

Default login information

Using recovery methods resets the device's configuration to its default state. Therefore, you will need to use the default authentication info in order to login to the device. The default login information for TRB140 is provided below:

  • Default Address (LAN IP): 192.168.2.1
  • Default Username: admin
  • Default Password: admin01

Factory reset

A factory reset returns the device back to its default factory settings, i.e., it deletes all custom configurations. Below you will find various methods of performing a factory reset on TRB140.

NOTE: SIM PIN on the main SIM card is the only user parameter that is kept after a factory reset.

Reset Button


The reset button is located on the back side of the device:

Networking trb140 manual device recovery button reset v1.png

The reset button has two functions:

  • Reboot the device. If the reset button is pressed for up to 4 seconds, the device will reboot. Start of the reboot will be indicated by the flashing of all 5 signal strength LEDs together with the green connection status LED.
  • Factory reset. If the reset button is pressed for at least 5 seconds (by default), the device will perform a factory reset and reboot. Signal strength LEDs indicate the elapsed time while holding the reset button. When all 5 LEDs light up, it indicates that 5 seconds have passed and the reset button can be released. Start of the factory reset will be indicated by flashing of all 5 signal strength LEDs together with a red connection status LED.
    NOTE: the default button hold time value (5 seconds) can be changed in the router's WebUI, from the System → Administration → General page.

WebUI


You can also perform a factory reset from the router's WebUI. To do so, login to the router and go to the Administration section found under the System tab (System → Administration → General). In the very bottom of the page there's a Restore button that performs a factory reset on click:

Networking trb14x manual device recovery webui reset v1.png

Command line


You can perform a factory reset via command line by executing the factory_restore command. After this you will be asked to confirm the reset. If you're sure, type the letter y and press "Enter" or type the letter n if you wish to cancel the reset.

The router will be reset to it's factory settings and rebooted. The entire sequence of events should look like this:

root@TRB140:~# factory_restore
Are you sure (y/n)? y

You can find more information on the command line interface (CLI) here.


RMA

If conventional recovery methods do not help, you may need to send the device to warranty for repair. The warranty process is described here.